Easy Swing Skirt Pattern Review

Easy Swing skirt sewn by Skirt Fixation

This week all of the adult sized people at Skirt Fixation are participating in Selfish Sewing Week!  You’ve seen lots of sewing, skirts, and adult sized creations! With the final creation of the week we have Aria, who is 12 and just starting to fit into the smallest women’s sizes.

Easy Swing skirt sewn by Skirt Fixation YAY! My first pattern sewn!  Or second, depending on if you count a doll skirt a real skirt HERE.  The Easy Swing Skirt was pretty easy to sew, and I just started out pretty slow, but by the time I was on hemming it I was pushing the pedal pretty hard.  I just followed the directions and didn’t have to do any ripping until after I had sewn the zigzag stitch.  I went to show Mom my work and when I came back to do the next step, I forgot to switch back to straight stitch, so I sewed a few inches before I caught myself.  A really silly mistake, huh.

The steps were quite easy and I didn’t get confused about anything.  Mom did sew on the elastic because it was a method she had never used before and she wanted to try it.  Anyhow I have never sewn on elastic or knit before so maybe it is time for me to sew one of those Jocole yoga a-line maxi skirts.

The fabric is very light and swingy so it was perfectly suited for this skirt.  The material is very thin so I think I will be attaching a slip underneath the skirt.  I really like the hang of the skirt, and it is really swingy.  I’ll bet that’s how its name came to be!

 A few notes from Audrey aka Mom!

As we’ve been saying for weeks now, Jocole skirts are really easy to sew with fantastic shape and style. Since it’s selfish sewing week, I really wanted Aria to try to do her own sewing, and sure enough, with the help of Jocole, she made the Easy Swing Skirt all by herself, with the exception noted above in her description.

Easy Swing skirt sewn by Skirt Fixation

She even picked out the fabric herself!  It is a lovely brown embroidered cotton from Urban Sew, and the drape is so lovely for this pattern.  It is also very lightweight which Aria will appreciate when the summer heat strikes!  Now we want you to do some selfish sewing too!

Published by skirtfixation

Audrey, a mom of 9, sews and blogs at Skirt Fixation, your home for everything skirt related! There's lots of other sewing goodness too...after all can't leave the boys out of sewing adventures! She also designs and sells pattern through Project Run & Play.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started