Abercrombie Mini Skirt Makeover – Short to Shining

Today, we have a skirt refashion for you that will knock your socks off!  We found a super cute mini skirt by Abercrombie at Salvation Army for $2.00.  Can’t beat that!  The problem wasn’t the price or the fantastic details, it was the length.  When you are 6 feet tall with a 36″ inseam, your legs are so long they look scrawny when sticking out of the bottom of a mini skirt!  Either that or like you are trying to squeeze into your daughter’s clothing!

If it wasn’t the chunky buttons we fell in love with, it was the pockets for sure!

So here’s what we did:

Step 1: Measure bottom of Abercrombie mini skirt.

Step 2: Use that measurement to create a tube from this fantastic fabric I found at JoAnn’s Fabrics.  It was one of those fabrics that when I saw it I knew I had to have it, and would figure out some use for it later!  I mean check out those sequins and that embroidery!  I simply cannot resist corduroy! But I digress!

Step 3: Sew fabric tube onto bottom of Abercrombie mini.

Step 4: Cut out denim strips, sew them together, gather, then sew to bottom of brown layer.

How about that for a good looking skirt makeover?

Total cost: $2.00  (Not counting the cost of the fabric…I don’t remember what it cost, and since it was part of my stash, I’m not counting it!)

Total time: Approximately 1 hour

Talent Level: Intermediate Seamstress

Abercrombie Mini Skirt - Short to Shining
Abercrombie Mini Skirt – Short to Shining

I can’t wait for fall to wear this denim/corduroy combo!  As cool as the summer has been, maybe I can get by with it sooner!  So what do you think?  Did you prefer the short mini before, or the shining, sparkling, superb after?  Vote and then let us know why you chose that one in the comments section.

[poll id=”7″]

Published by skirtfixation

Audrey, a mom of 9, sews and blogs at Skirt Fixation, your home for everything skirt related! There's lots of other sewing goodness too...after all can't leave the boys out of sewing adventures! She also designs and sells pattern through Project Run & Play.

One thought on “Abercrombie Mini Skirt Makeover – Short to Shining

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started